A Teller of Tales

“Let us go forth, the tellers of tales, and seize whatever prey the heart longs for, and have no fear. Everything exists, everything is true, and the earth is only a little dust under our feet.” – W.B. Yeats

I love this.

For I’m a teller of tales, constantly reaching to seize what my heart longs for. That next perfect word, that world only I can see, that turn of phrase, essence of place, note of book1longing, glimmer of hope.

I discovered long ago the miracle the God gave me: that within me lies a kingdom. And knowing this about myself, I realize it must be true of others as well. We have worlds within us … did you know that? Did you possibly guess?

Whether you write about that kingdom, whether you live it, or speak it, or pray it, or even ignore it … it’s there.

Everything exists. Every possibility. Every promise. Every joy. Reach out and take it – it was God’s gift to you long ago, even before you were born.

I write the worlds within me. I glorify God’s Kingdom by writing of the kingdoms in my imagination, of thrones, of heroes, of evil and triumph, of battles lost and won.

Tell me, how do you give life to the world within you?

About bookishashlee

Ashlee is the author of The Word Changers, a Christian YA fantasy that released June 2014.

Posted on February 6, 2014, in fantasy, storytelling, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

