Edits, ARCs and a Tree House

This week I’ve been working on edits for THE WORD CHANGERS. The first round was finished a few weeks ago, and the second round (thankfully!) was much less intense. There will likely be a third round quite soon, which will probably be the last! *Happy dance!*

My publisher informs me he hopes to have ARCs for THE WORD CHANGERS printed by the end of this month. As in … March. THIS MONTH!books1

What, you may very well ask, is an ARC?? Well, truth be told, I was wondering that myself not so many moons ago …

It is, my friend, an “Advanced Reader Copy.” What that means is that, while THE WORD CHANGERS may not have completed its final edit quite yet, the unfinished paperback version of it will be available to certain readers chosen by my publisher, so that reviews will be available and circulating before the actual release date of the book.

ARCs are pretty great, huh? And I may decide to do a giveaway for one of my copies in exchange for a blog/Goodreads/Amazon review … so keep watching for that!

So, yes, THE WORD CHANGERS is not yet out and the edits have been much less than horrible. But have I been idling away my time? Nope. I am nearing the end of a brand new book! Eeek! For those of you write, you know how exciting it is to get near that finish line. Today I finished my second-to-last chapter … just one to go! I’m so close, I can just smell it!

It’s not a sequel to THE WORD CHANGERS, as many people have asked me, although it is a YA fantasy (of course!). And while I really prefer writing standalone books, this one has turned into a duology. It was simply too much to put into one book, and I think it works well as a two-book set. So once all the work is finished on the first one (edits and revisions and other fun things) I will be plugging away at the second one. I can’t say much about it now because even my agent hasn’t seen it yet – but I hope to tell you more in the coming months.

Oh, and one more exciting thing … my 6-year-old wants me to inform everyone his treehouse is now officialy finished and ready to play in! Right in time for spring!

Yay for edits and ARCs and tree houses!

About bookishashlee

Ashlee is the author of The Word Changers, a Christian YA fantasy that released June 2014.

Posted on March 15, 2014, in Updates, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. So cool that you’re about done with the first draft on the next book Ashlee. I’m 10,000 words into the rough draft on the second book in my werewolf trilogy, but decided to go back and finish the first before I go any further.

    I’m not only anticipating your release date, but also breaking news on your current project!

    God bless your six year old! My kids were ecstatic when I built them one at that age…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brent, thanks so much! I look forward to your books as well!!

    Like

  3. What an exciting time for you! I’m a few months behind you in the process with my third book in the War Within series…I’ve just submitted it to my publisher for consideration, and if it goes through it’ll be out this Fall. I’m trying not to get too excited or too stressed over it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love the idea of ARCs, and it’s awesome that your publisher is doing that for you. That makes me think I should really push my publisher to do the same. I’m sure it would help, especially if you get Amazon reviews and blog posts for extra exposure right before book launch time. If I can help with that in any way I’d be happy to.

    I’d love to see the treehouse you made, me and my soon-to-be 5 year-old Xander are planning on building a play structure/fort this summer!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for your kind offer of help, Nate! I truly appreciate it, and will definitely let you know if there’s anything you can do! I’d love to be able to support you in any way I can as well, so just say the word! The tree house is quite simple, really – nothing spectacular – but my son just loves it. I’ve already had visions of myself sitting up there with my laptop, writing away, this summer ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

