My Book: First Review and a Giveaway

Things are coming along with my book, and now that my ARC copies are floating hither and yon, I have been keeping my eyes open for those first reviews. It’s a nerve-wracking thing, knowing your words are being read by someone with the intend of critiquing them. Maybe they will like the book… maybe they will love it! But then again, maybe they will detest it. Worse still, perhaps they will merely shrug and immediately forget it. *shudder*

But bad reviews will come along with the goods ones. I’m ok with that … or that’s what I tell myself now, anyway 🙂 And I’m thrilled to say that my very FIRST review was quite glowing! Go over to Goodreads or Amazon and read it if you don’t believe me!! I think God knew I needed those first encouraging words, and I’m so glad I’ve got all of you to share them with!

Now onto some more exciting news …

A GIVEAWAY!!!

TheWordChangersGoodreadsGiveaway

Ok, so it actually began a few days ago over on Goodreads, but you’ve got loads of time to enter your name! And you’ve got more than just one shot, too, because I’m giving away FIVE COPIES of The Word Changers after it releases on June 23. All of them signed by me … for whatever that’s worth! 🙂

So pop over to Goodreads and enter your name if you haven’t already, and spread the word to your friends as well.

… oh, and have an awesome week!!

About bookishashlee

Ashlee is the author of The Word Changers, a Christian YA fantasy that released June 2014.

Posted on May 28, 2014, in fantasy, Giveaway, The Word Changers, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Good reviews are so nice!

    My strategy for dealing with negative reviews is to go read a bunch of the 1 or 2 star reviews that some of my favorite books have gotten (Lord of the Rings even has a few… oddly enough). Makes me feel like I’m more of a “real” author.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Best of luck with your launch and the reviews. I entered the giveaway.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Weirdly, I feel very low reviews aren’t that distressing. After all, there are always going to be people who hate your stuff! No author is immune to that. But in noncommittal reviews I feel the person is saying “this almost worked for me . . . but . . . could have been better . . .” which drives me nuts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re right … I think the “eh” reviews probably will scare me more than the blatantly negative ones. As an author, you want a reaction out of your readers, whether it’s love or hate … but neutrality is the enemy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

