The Fairy Tales of Robin Williams

Though Robin Williams was never a favorite actor or comedian of mine, there are certain roles I will always remember him for, a handful of which are set in worlds of fantasy or fairy tale.

I grew up watching the movie Hook, based around the story of Peter Pan.

Peter Pan (Robin Williams)

Another favorite of mine growing up was Aladdin – and much of the reason it was a favorite was because of Genie, I must say.

Genie (Robin Williams)

Only a year or two ago did my husband and I discover Shelley Duvall’s Faerie Tale Theatre at our local library, and I was stunned at all the appearances of famous actors and actresses before their prime. Robin Williams was one of them in his role as the Frog Prince. Corny those shows may have been … but no less endearing for that! If you haven’t watched them, you definitely should!

Frog Prince (Robin Williams)2 Frog Prince (Robin Williams)

Were you a Robin Williams fan? In what movie or role did you like him best?

 

About bookishashlee

Ashlee is the author of The Word Changers, a Christian YA fantasy that released June 2014.

Posted on August 13, 2014, in fairy tales, fantasy, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I actually hadn’t heard of him until everyone started talking about his death. šŸ˜› I had no idea he played the Genie from Aladdin!!! That’s cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. He was really funny in his stand-up routines but I would say that his role as Mork in Mork and Mindy is my favorite.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m afraid I must second Proverbs31teen . . . I’ve been wondering who he was for the past few days. Alas for his passing, though. šŸ˜¦ And alas that, from what I’ve heard, no one really saw it coming.
    By the way, I nominated you for the Scribbler Award. You don’t have to respond if you don’t want to, but . . . http://tpssarahlightshadows.wordpress.com/2014/08/13/scribbler-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I imagine you are too young to remember him for anything. Plus, he hadn’t done much in recent years that I ever heard about. Thanks for the nomination! I’ll check it out šŸ™‚

      Like

      • Aladdin would be the only possibility . . . but that was one of the Disney movies we don’t own and therefore I never bothered to watch. And you’re welcome!

        Like

  4. Hey those fairy tale shows look cute! I should check them out. šŸ™‚
    He was a super funny guy. Very sad he’s dead.
    I associate him with Hook, Aladdin, Dead Poet’s Society,Jumanji, and Mork and Mindy.
    His version of ” Friend like Me” is still one of my favorite Disney songs, EVER.

    Like

    • Yeah, that show is definitely fun to watch. I’m thinking I need to do a blog post on Faerie Tale Theatre one of these days! “Friend Like Me” is such a great song … every time I hear it, it stays in my head for days!! šŸ™‚

      Like

  5. I loved Robin Williams and am devastated by his death. So sad. šŸ˜¦ However, my favorite films with him are Hook, Alladin, and Mrs. Doubtfire. šŸ™‚ He was such a talented actor and voice actor.

    -Tialla

    Like

Leave a Reply

