Book Sightings and Library Love

A couple of weeks ago I went to my local library and saw, for the first time ever, my own book on the library shelf! And not just one copy … two! I was pretty excited, as you can well imagine!

book sighting DBRL

At my local library!

When I visited my alumni college (later that same day, as it happens), an old friend I was speaking with there informed me that he had seen my book for sale in the college bookstore … on display, on the front counter! I’m only a little ashamed to say that I squealed and immediately drug my husband and son to the bookstore to see it. Wouldn’t you have?!

book sighting CCCB

In my alumni college bookstore!

Having my book for sale in a book store is exciting, but I’ve got to say that seeing my book on the shelf of a library, with the potential to go through the hands of dozens, possibly hundreds of readers … now that’s really a dream come true. Libraries have always meant so much to me, the scent of papers and ink, the whisper of pages being turned, the hum of silence, the solid walls of books all around. Paradise, really. What a privilege for my book to now have a home in one of my favorite places on the planet!

Many of you have read The Word Changers already, and a lot of you who haven’t have said you’d like to one day. If you haven’t had the chance yet, have you considered submitting a request to your own local library to purchase a copy? I’ve done that many times in the past for books that I’ve considered reading, but was on the fence about forking my own money out to buy. And 9 times out of 10, my library goes on to purchase the requested copy.

Most of the time you only need the requested book’s title, author, and year published (my library usually won’t purchase something that has a publish date of more than a year ago). But if you decide to put in a request for The Word Changers, and your library requires more information, click here 🙂

I can’t tell you the pleasure and honor I’d feel knowing my book was on the shelves of libraries across the United States, or even in other countries! What a thrill!

And just for fun, here are some great library quotes:

Slide4

Slide3

Slide2

Slide1

 

HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND!!

 

About bookishashlee

Ashlee is the author of The Word Changers, a Christian YA fantasy that released June 2014.

Posted on September 13, 2014, in Ashlee's Everyday, Books, Inspiration, Library, Reading, The Word Changers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. That is so awesome! Congrats! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s amazing!!! Good for you, Ashlee 😀 I would be SO excited!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That is so awesome! 😀 Also, I love the quotes.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That is one of the best feelings in the world… seeing your book on a shelf in a library or book store. Congrats!!!! Love the quotes!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Eeee that’s so exciting! Seeing your own book on shelves must be one of the best feelings out there! ^_^

    You know, I keep meaning to ask my library to carry some stuff I want to read but don’t have the funds for (i.e.: everything. XD) and suggest some books I love but they don’t have, and I keep forgetting to.

    THANK YOU for this post, it’s a great reminder, and shows me that it’s probably not ALL that scary. 😉 I’m going to have to try it out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have suggested it for my library to get… I keep telling people how good it is and if our library does get it * crosses fingers * then they will be able to borrow it! It must be so cool to have your book published and in libraries and in heaps of people’s homes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

