First Drafts and Dragons

first draft 2

Well, my friends, I am feeling a strange mixture of utter relief and tension right now. It’s the feeling that comes when a first draft is finished (relief), and edits loom large (tension) ….

Yes, you heard me. Mere minutes ago I typed the last sentence of my book. It is the second of a series I am working on (I finished the first draft of the first book earlier this year). It’s a thrilling feeling, to say the least! Especially as this is a bigger undertaking than I’ve ever tackledย before. From a girl who has written only standalones, a series is a daunting task. As of now I have written the first two books, and have many plans and ideas for the third book, although it may be a while before I begin officially working on it.

What, you ask, are these books about? Well, I’m always a bit reluctant to say much about my WIPs while they are still in first-draft form – even to my own family! But I will give you a few clues.

Firstly, there are dragons. And anyone who knows me knows how much I adore dragons. I’ve longed to put them in a book for many years, but dragon1hadn’t found the right story for them until now. And I’m so excited about them, although to be honest, a little nervous about how I’ve pulled it off …!

Secondly, and probably obviously, these books are of the Christian fantasy genre, just as The Word Changers was. There is an element of allegory, an element of mystery, a great deal of adventure and intrigue and danger, and a bit of romance.

Thirdly, these books are told from multiple points of view. There are two protagonists – one is a male and one is a female. The story is told alternately from their viewpoints, something else I’ve wanted to do for a long time but didn’t quite have the courage for. The male viewpoint was a difficult one, and when I’m editing I’m sure I will have to sharpen his voice and think many manly thoughts in order to get it just right …! Perhaps some of the men in my life will be willing to read the book and offer their wisdom! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

I am giving myself a week or two off before I begin edits. And by “off,” I mean that I will probably just tackle another writing project while I wait. ย A short story, perhaps … or maybe a brand new book. I’ve got ideas for both of those things rattling around in my brain right now, so we’ll see.

So thanks to those who prayed for me and encouraged me as I struggled through the ending of this book (you know who you are!), and to those of you who I pray get to read these labors sometime in the distant future. I truly couldn’t do it without you, or without God, the true Author of all our stories.

Have a blessed weekend!

About bookishashlee

Ashlee is the author of The Word Changers, a Christian YA fantasy that released June 2014.

Posted on October 10, 2014, in Ashlee's Everyday, Dragons, fantasy, Updates, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. How wonderful! I’m so excited for to read it!!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats! For me, it’s always such a big relief when I finish the first draft. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I totally know what you mean about writing in a man’s POV being difficultโ€”as you know, Shawn is my main character in WSL, and it has been very hard to make him “manly” enough. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But in other ways it was easier because there’s SO much less drama. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re right – not as much emotion with the guy characters. But I still like to show the emotion underneath, the stuff they feel but don’t want to show – which can be tricky sometimes! Urgh! Having written from a man’s POV before, do you have any “manly” advice to give me?! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      • Exactlyโ€”that balance between showing the underlying emotion yet not overdoing it is super difficult. Haha, manly advice, well…. Don’t be afraid to be cut and dry, even if it feels so plain and you really want to use those awesome metaphors. ๐Ÿ˜‰ At least, that’s when you’re “in the man’s head.” Also, having men as proofreaders (beta readers, whatever) is a great idea. I currently have two men going over WSL, and they’ve given me some awesome (albeit sometimes painful) suggestions for getting in a guy’s head. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Dragons! That must have been fun to write! I’d sure like to be one of those men that – what did you say? – offers wisdom. =) Probably a better word is perspective.

    Felicitations! Happy plotting…and editing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats on finishing a first draft! ๐Ÿ˜€ And DRAGONS. Yes. ๐Ÿ˜€ Dragons are awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Excited to read this new series!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. EEEE CONGRATS! ๐Ÿ˜€ That’s one of the best feelings. ^_^ AND I’M SO EXCITED BECAUSE A NEW ASHLEE BOOK!!!! โค I can't wait to read it! (I know it will be awhile though. ;)) Ooh, Dragons… And alternating POVs. Coolness!

    I'm the other way, where I have a hard time writing female POVs; or… not a hard time, I guess, I just never like my female characters as much because I'M a female and I find it hard to hit a balance of personality girl characters. Because I dislike both the wimpy girls AND the tough girls (I'm rather majorly sick of the tough girl trend. XD) but it's so HARD to get a girl in between, who's also likeable. :-/ Consequently, my guy characters interest me more and I find it more easy to write from their POVs. Um. Don't know how I got off on that…

    Anyways, CONGRATULATIONS again!! Hope you enjoy your "rest". ๐Ÿ˜‰ And I'll be here eagerly (but patiently ;)) awaiting the next story from to be shared with the world, whichever it may be! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, Deborah! Your words always make me smile ๐Ÿ™‚ I do understand what you mean about female POVs. They can be difficult as well, especially since I’m always tempted to put so much of myself in them, which means they would all eventually end up being too much alike …! Not a good thing! And I agree with you, the “tough girl” trend is way overdone. Just real girls, please, with strengths AND weaknesses, who we can all relate to!!

      Thanks so much for the well wishes!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I expect the alternating POV will add really good layers to your story! I’ve always been reluctant about male POV, but once I started on my latest story (which has a lot of it), I found it put the narrative in a really good new direction. I am a skeptic about dragon fantasy, for the most part–so you’ve got me really curious about how you can possibly make it as good as The Word Changers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

